Beginning in January 2018, CPTV and CPTV Spirit will feature the Public Television Feature Film Collection. Explore the work of legendary actors and actresses in some of their greatest cinema classics. In these films, presented without interruption, viewers will enjoy an array of noteworthy performances, ranging from Audrey Hepburn’s iconic turn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s to Will Smith’s enthralling portrayal of Muhammad Ali in Ali.

Films airing in October 2018 include:

A Streetcar Named Desire
Tennessee Williams’ Blanche DuBois (Vivien Leigh) moves in with her sister, Stella (Kim Hunter), and brutish brother-in-law, Stanley (Marlon Brando).

  • Saturday, October 6 at 9 p.m. on CPTV
  • Sunday, October 7 at 2 p.m. on CPTV
  • Friday, October 12 at 9 p.m. on CPTV SPIRIT
  • Saturday, October 13 at 6 p.m. on CPTV SPIRIT

Close Encounters of the Third Kind
An Indiana lineman (Richard Dreyfuss) and other UFO sighters, beleagured by earlier incidents, finally have documented contact with space aliens. 

  • Friday, October 5 at 9 p.m. on CPTV SPIRIT
  • Saturday, October 6 at 6 p.m. on CPTV SPIRIT
  • Saturday, October 27 at 8 p.m. on CPTV
  • Sunday, October 28 at 2 p.m. on CPTV

Doctor Zhivago
Boris Pasternak’s story of a poet/doctor (Omar Sharif), his wife (Geraldine Chaplin) and his lover (Julie Christie) unfolds during the Russian Revolution.

  • Saturday, October 13 at 8 p.m. on CPTV
  • Sunday, October 14 at 2 p.m. on CPTV
  • Friday, October 19 at 8 p.m. on CPTV SPIRIT

Julie and Julia 
A woman (Amy Adams) in Queens, N.Y., sets a deadline of one year to prepare all 524 recipes in Julia Child’s (Meryl Streep) famous cookbook, Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

  • Saturday, October 20 at 9 p.m. on CPTV
  • Sunday, October 21 at 2 p.m. on CPTV

Share. Follow. Enjoy! NEW!

sharing-ct-logo

CPTV presents a new series of video short stories that highlight and celebrate the unique people and places that contribute to the pulse and spirit of our state. Learn more »

Latest Episode: Hartford Craft Bus